top of page

The Community Outreach Christian Ministry


Visit the COCM!

We had so much fun yesterday delivering our first twenty eggs to the Harvest Center in Mecklenburg county! We just recently have assembled our first weekly/ local carton carpool team, so we were able to donate eggs from chicken owners in the neighborhoods of: Foxcroft, Old Salem, Woodbridge, and Meredith, which is AMAZING!

I’ve been so excited about the egg cartons I was able to use! We had to buy them from Home Depot., so I might have to look into some cheaper DIY egg holders, but they certainly are cute! I printed off our Protein to the People logo onto some labels, and I think my mother and I are obsessed.

The people we met at the center were so nice and open, and we couldn’t have had a better first egg run! We met Kyle at the front office, and talked about the need to rely a bit more on fresh, and local food supplies. It wasn’t too long ago that everybody owned their own farms… Now younger generations have no idea of the origin of their food, except that it comes from a grocery store in plastic film. It’s crazy!

Later when we met Mrs. Hazel, who took our donation of twenty eggs, it was fun to hear her perspective on our project, and to explain the reality of chicken owning!

I think we made some friends and a good connection within the community already!

-Anna :)


bottom of page