top of page

Sugaw Creek (Loaves and Fishes)


Visit Sugaw Creek Church!

Visiting Sugaw Creek Presbyterian Church was a great experience for me. It was a pleasure to be able to meet with Mrs. Lynn Lewis, the coordinator of this Loaves and Fishes pantry, alongside some of the church’s volunteers.

Mrs. Lewis, who is very friendly and passionate about what she does, had heard about me through a board meeting with the financial executive of Loaves and Fishes, which blew me away! I am so appreciative and feel so honored to be mentioned and noticed in our community already.

It was a busy day at Sugaw Creek, volunteers and donators alike hustling about to fulfill the needs of the pantry.

Water and bread were practically flying through the air, alongside other non perishable items like diapers and clothing. In the small but valuable window of time I was able to receive with Mrs. Lewis, I donated a total of two dozen eggs, laid by my flock and my neighbor’s who belongs to my bi-monthly egg run.

We also learned that though eggs are always needed and always used, saltines and canned fruit is a big help at Sugaw Creek alongside volunteers. And if you are considering helping out down at this awesome pantry, stop by the old school house near the pantry’s front. My mother and I were surprised to find that one of the men who created Davidson College, was the first teacher there, and that it has also remained unrenovated since the 1830’s!

We hope to be able to keep Sugaw Creek Presbyterian Church as a connection in our community, for it was a pleasure visiting.

-Anna Keener :)


bottom of page